Lio (7/27/08)

There’s so much to admire in today’s Lio that it’s hard to know where to begin. This strip could have ended with panel four (Lio is eaten by a kiddie pool) or panel seven (Lio escapes his plastic captor), but it keeps moving the conflict forward. As a result, we’re given the glorious eighth panel in which Lio attacks his watery nemesis with a trowel. We’re also given a glimpse of the deflated pool in the final panel, which reminds me of the occasional depictions of Hobbes as a stuffed animal in Calvin and Hobbes. It suggests (for the first time I’ve seen) that a fantastic occurrence is taking place in Lio’s imagination and not within the broader world of the strip itself.

3 Responses to “Lio (7/27/08)”

  1. Alexa Says:

    I absoloutly love lio. He is plastered all over my desk at work and keeps me going. I love when he eats jelly beans. I don’t know why.

    Alexa

  2. Alexander Says:

    This strip reminded me of Calvin and Hobbes in another way. Many Calvin and Hobbes strips involve Calvin jumping into leaf piles, only to be swallowed by the leaf pile monster. He ends up destroying the leaf pile and/or spreading the leaves across the yard. I suspect that this Lio strip is a parody.

Leave a Reply

