Candorville (8/8/08)

Sloppy language is one of my pet peeves, so I can understand the urge to correct people on the street. One saying that sticks in my craw is “really great,” which seems to be born of the belief that “great” is not strong enough on its own. But even though these phrases grate on me, I can also tolerate them in small doses. “Thank you so much” may be excessive in most situations, but the provocateur in this strip fails to recognize that it is excusable when addressing someone who’s given you a kidney.

Leave a Reply

