Pardon My Planet (5/6/09)

05-06-09 (Pardon My Planet)

I have a soft spot in my heart for encased meats, but I have to admit that hot dogs are at the bottom of my list of favorites. I’m a much bigger fan of bratwurst, chicken sausage and Italian sausage than I am of Vienna Beef or the now defunct Best’s Kosher. A good bratwurst can be something of a gourmet experience if it’s topped with just the right mix of cooked onion, fresh tomato and mild mustard, and served in a hearty sandwich roll. But a hot dog is destined to be just a hot dog – a mildly pleasing amalgam of mystery meats that makes for easy grilling on a hot summer day.

Leave a Reply

