Lio (6/22/09)

06-22-09 (Lio)

This may sound dorky, but today’s Lio reminds me of the optional (and nearly impossible to beat) underwater boss in Final Fantasy VII. I had stopped playing video games by the time my senior year of high school rolled around, but was sucked back in by this epic release for the Sony Playstation. I remember using all my Christmas money to buy a system and a brand new copy of what was being hailed as “the greatest game ever.” And while I have fond memories of staying up late on school nights to advance the storyline, I also remember how long it took me to finally beat the game. After devoting months to Final Fantasy VII, Castlevania: Symphony of the Night and (after a short hiatus) Crash Team Racing, I was thoroughly exhausted and through with video games for another 10 years.

Leave a Reply

