Cul de Sac (7/21/09)

07-21-09 (Cul de Sac)

The bright lights of Chicago make it impossible to see more than a few stars at night, and with urban sprawl in full effect you’d have to drive pretty far to see anything approaching a constellation. I’ve only seen a genuine starry night once but the experience filled me with so much wonder that I couldn’t take my eyes off the heavens. Far from feeling “unnoticed,” I felt intimately connected to a vast universe far bigger than Chicago, Illinois, the United States or even the Planet Earth. Needless to say, I did not throw mulch.

2 Responses to “Cul de Sac (7/21/09)”

  1. Leo Says:

    I can totally relate to that, only once have I seen a truly magnificent starry sky and also the milky way. The urban sky makes me gag…

Leave a Reply

