Pearls Before Swine (8/30/09)

08-30-09 (Pearls Before Swine)

While objectification of women is nothing new, today’s Pearls Before Swine brings the practice into sharp relief. I’m not bothered by Rat’s plan to bring a scantily clad woman into the forest with him, but I am put off by the words he uses to describe her. He doesn’t refer to “my friend, the Dallas Cowboy cheerleader” or “my companion, the Dallas Cowboy cheerleader” or even “my date, the Dallas Cowboy cheerleader.” Instead, he uses the phrase, “my Dallas Cowboy cheerleader.” I didn’t know women were available for purchase the same way iPhones, Xboxes and kegs of beer are available for purchase, but in Rat’s world, apparently they are. (On a purely grammatical note, I feel compelled to mention that this woman should be referred to as a Dallas Cowboys cheerleader, since she is almost certainly cheering for the entire team and not an individual player.)

Leave a Reply

