Cul de Sac (10/18/09)

10-18-09 (Cul de Sac)

When I was a kid, my friends and I debated whether or not it was possible to swing in a complete circle, looping around the top bar of a swing set. I was skeptical, although I secretly hoped that such a thing were possible. I would ask my dad to push me as hard as he could and would kick my legs out at the height of the swing. The higher I got, the more excited and nervous I became about clearing the crossbar. I also worried that my momentum wouldn’t carry me far enough, and that I would end up hitting my head on the metal swing set. Needless to say, the only time I saw a swing clear the crossbar when there was nobody sitting on it and my friends and I pushed the nearly weightless rubber as hard as we could, trying to prove a point.

Leave a Reply

