Brenda Starr (11/22/09)

Are elephants violent? Because the only times I’ve seen them they’ve been slow-moving and seemingly lethargic. Size aside, my read on these animals is that they’re more apt to swat flies with their trunks than go on a murderous rampage. I’ve noticed elephants being led around the perimeter of a circus tent with nary a thought given to audience safety. And who can forget the classic image of an elephant rearing up in terror at the sight of a tiny mouse? None of this is to say that I would take an elephant lightly if I encountered it in the wild, but in the meantime I’m not overly concerned that one is going to come charging through the walls of my home.

Leave a Reply

