Raising Hector (1/4/10)

For reasons I find hard to explain, Raising Hector still enjoys a spot on the Chicago Tribune comics page. Today’s installment is particularly infuriating, what with its obvious grammatical error. In panel two, one of the characters asks, “We’re all the remote controls or blasters?” As any fourth grader could tell you, this means, “We are all the remote controls or blasters?” and not, “Where are all the remote controls or blasters?” The grammatical goof is bad enough, but what really makes me upset is the fact that Candorville, an excellent strip that occasionally pokes fun at poor usage, was dumped from the paper to make room for this nonsense.

2 Responses to “Raising Hector (1/4/10)”

  1. Steve Says:

    I hate this strip so much that it’s become the first thing I turn to on sunday morning. I recently had to admit to myself that I looked forward to seeing how low he could go and if he could possibly get any stupider or less funny.

    • Dixon Galvez-Searle Says:

      What bugs me about Raising Hector is not that it’s a bad strip – there are plenty of bad strips, after all – but rather that it replaced an excellent strip, Candorville, in my hometown newspaper.

Leave a Reply

