Lio (1/23/10)

Despite growing up in Chicago, I’m not much for winter sports. I’ve never put on a pair of skis, and the only hockey I ever played took place on a residential street during the summer. But today was an exception; today, I walked over to my neighborhood park, rented a musty pair of ice skates from a Chicago Park District trailer, and stumbled around a frozen rink for a good 30 minutes. My fellow skaters were much more accomplished than I was, but I somehow managed to remain upright the entire time. I see that as an accomplishment, given my previous record of falling on my bum every time I took to the ice. Look out Sochi, here I come.

Leave a Reply

