Luann (1/30/10)

For a lot of people, West Side Story was part of their high school experience. This was true for me, but not as a performer. I videotaped my school’s production of the only musical contemporary audiences can stand, and got a kick out of the ambitious staging. We used a multilevel set, a chain-link fence, and decent fight scenes to augment the angst-filled story of star-crossed love. Today’s Luann reminds me of that production, and while I’m sure the strip’s “theatrical romance mirrors real-life romance” storyline will be tiresome and predictable, I’m holding out hope that it will include finger-snapping teens singing about Jets and Sharks.

Leave a Reply

