Political Cartoon (3/22/10)

I don’t post political cartoons to this site; not because I don’t like them, but because they’re so different from the strips that populate the funny pages. But today I’m making an exception. It seems like everywhere I go this morning, people are talking about the health care bill that passed the House of Representatives last night. This cartoon from Tom Toles seems to articulate the passions of partisans on both sides without casting judgment on either. That’s a pretty impressive achievement. But try as I might, I can’t bring myself to identify with either of the “parents” in this strip. I didn’t read the newspaper this morning and think, “Finally, we live in a country that provides affordable, quality medical care to all its citizens,” nor did I say to myself, “This bloated, corrupt bill will bankrupt our country and lead us down a slippery slope toward socialized medicine.” I’m nominally encouraged that the legislation passed, but I’m still waiting to see how it plays out in real life. I suppose I’ll have a better idea of its impact next year, when open enrollment comes around again.

Leave a Reply

