Big Nate (5/9/10)

I’ve been running for four weeks now, gradually increasing my distance with each passing week. The first time I ventured outside, I made it three blocks before practically collapsing on the sidewalk. Last week, however, I was able to run a mile without breaking much of a sweat. And when it rained Friday morning, I was genuinely upset that I couldn’t take to the sidewalk for my morning jog. Miraculously, my mantra has evolved from, “Survive. Don’t give up.” to, “Next week’s run will be even longer! Oh boy!” Soon, I expect I’ll max out on distance and start to focus on increasing my speed.

Leave a Reply

