Arlo & Janis (5/31/10)

I’ve done a fair amount of grilling in my life, but I never owned a grill until earlier this year. (I’m not counting the George Foreman grill that sat in my kitchen, unopened, for two years thanks to stern provisions in my lease.) When I finally took delivery of a brand new, stainless steel gas grill in April, my whole perspective changed. I stood in my backyard and cooked a dozen hamburgers that had been slathered with homemade barbecue sauce. I ate one. My friends and family members and neighbors all partook. And then I started getting ambitious. The next cook-out featured beer-soaked bratwurst wrapped in summer sausage. And the next cook-out? The menu is still in flux, but I’m leaning heavily toward carne asada.

Leave a Reply

