Monty (6/8/10)

I’ve never been scared of sharks, probably because I don’t live anywhere near an ocean. Maybe people on the coasts have a different perspective, but I’ve always put shark attacks pretty low on my list of potential water-based traumas. There are plenty of reasons to fear large bodies of water, ranging from the obvious (drowning) to the not-so-obvious (accidentally swallowing sludge). And while an encounter with a shark would almost certainly end badly for me, the likelihood of that happening seems infinitesimal, at least compared with the likelihood of my walking by a teenager as he silently relieves himself in the shallow waters of a public beach.

Leave a Reply

