Cul de Sac (6/9/10)

As an adult, I can walk past the toy aisle of a department store without blinking an eye. But as a child, I was magnetically drawn to plastic do-dads, outdated board games, and laminated video game placards. I didn’t own an obnoxious number of toys, but I did convince my parents to indulge me from time to time. Now that I think back on it, I believe I cherished the duds most of all. The unpopular video game systems, wonky racing tracks, and easy-to-beat board games all had their shortcomings, but they also had character. I wanted them to be good toys, even though they clearly weren’t. It’s possible that I even felt bad for them.

Leave a Reply

