Wizard of Id (6/10/10)

We all have dreams. When I was in college, I dreamt of playing professional baseball, which was strange because I had never played organized ball at any level; not high school, not middle school, not even Little League. I played pickup softball in the park, but those games hardly counted.  Still, I loved the heck out of baseball, so I concocted an elaborate scenario that had me playing third base for the Minnesota Twins. I would break into the majors as a hot prospect, endure a prolonged slump to start my career, and then break out of it by going four-for-four. Years later, I would break Joe DiMaggio’s record for consecutive games with a base hit and win two World Series championships. The Twins are using a platoon at third base this year, but something tells me it’s a little late for me to get in on the action.

Leave a Reply

