Dilbert (6/22/10)

I think of myself as “a man who likes to cook,” primarily because I’m “a man who likes to eat.” When I was in my late teens I found myself in a precarious situation. My grandmother left town for a few months to help care for my newborn cousins, my mother spent her hours studying for a degree, and my father learned to subsist on Ramen noodle soup. The situation only lasted a month or two, but that was long enough for me to learn the basics of cooking and realize that I liked preparing meals for myself. Today, I’ve graduated to complex rice recipes and ambitious seasoning (and, of course, barbecue). I try to make a new dish at least once a week, which pleases my wife and, more importantly, fills our bellies with good food.

Leave a Reply

