Monty (6/30/10)

I had a physical yesterday, but I believe it would be in poor taste to talk about the (ahem) glove-related aspects of my exam. Instead, I’ll mention that I was given a routine tetanus shot, partly because I hadn’t had one in 11 years and partly because I gashed up my leg while taking apart a drop ceiling. The shot itself was a piece of cake: the nurse swabbed my shoulder with alcohol, pinched my skin, and gave me the inoculation. But then I remembered, as I was lying in bed last night with a sore shoulder, that it’s the aftermath of a tetanus shot that’s painful. In fact, I have a cold compress wrapped around my shoulder as I type this. It’s starting to get warm, though, so I may have to move on to frozen peas before long.

Leave a Reply

