Zits (7/28/10)

It’s not surprising that a teenage boy would get a traffic ticket, nor is it surprising that he would kiss a girl. What is surprising is that he would like jazz, which is why I was tickled to see the parents in this strip react with such utter shock to their son’s Facebook page. I’m a music lover myself, but I could never understand the appeal of jazz. I grew up with stacks of Charlie Parker and Thelonious Monk records, but the music never grabbed me. It didn’t have the earnest simplicity of folk, the catchy inventiveness of hip-hop, or the raw energy of punk. And the few jazz concerts I attended were preceded by lectures explaining the music, never a good sign. I may come to appreciate jazz in the future, but for now, I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

