Zits (9/11/10)

Like most music lovers, I owe a debt of gratitude to my parents. If it weren’t for my dad, I might have dismissed sixties icons like Bob Dylan and Simon & Garfunkel. If it weren’t for my mom, I probably would have ignored folk singers like Phil Ochs and Stan Rogers. The ever-present hum of my household stereo conditioned me to love and appreciate music. That said, I’m glad my parents never came to me looking for musical suggestions. I can imagine my dad listening to De La Soul and my mom listening to the Clash, but I can’t imagine either of them enjoying the experience.

Leave a Reply

