Chuckle Bros (9/25/10)

A lot of people use pet phrases without even knowing it. One of my college professors, for example, had a habit of finishing his sentences by assuring us that something was “a done deal.” “Turn the knob to 10,” he would say, “hit record, and (dramatic pause) it’s a done deal.” I also have a pet phrase. Every time my wife thanks me for something I say, “You’re welcome,” followed quickly by, “You’re damn welcome.” I started saying this so much (i.e. twice) that it became repetitive. Now I get self-conscious whenever I feel the urge to say it. Sadly, that’s quite often.

Leave a Reply

