Prickly City (10/1/10)

I’ll be the first to admit that $787 billion is a lot of money. It’s a lot of money for the government to spend on one thing, even something as big as stimulating the American economy. A year-and-a-half after Congress authorized borrowing and spending those billions, the average American is still waiting for his situation to improve, and is growing more frustrated with each passing day. But not me. My one encounter with the stimulus (aside from being offered a lower COBRA payment after I was laid off) was as a beneficiary of its first-time homebuyer tax credit. Without that credit, I’d still be renting an apartment and wondering whether I could ever afford a house. So, strange as it may sound, I count myself as the rare citizen who hears the word “stimulus” and feels not anger or ambivalence, but gratitude.

Leave a Reply

