The Family Circus (11/7/10)

A few years ago, one of my relatives gave me a copy of Gravity’s Rainbow for Christmas. I had never read the book, or anything by author Thomas Pynchon, so I was eager to dive in. Then I read the first page and encountered a dense thicket of words. It struck me as the literary equivalent of opening a movie by spinning a camera wildly around in a circle. I quickly decided that I was not up for 776 pages of that, so I put the book down. To my credit, I did not pick up a children’s book instead. Whether or not I picked up a collection of comic strips…I’d rather not say.

Leave a Reply

