Monty (11/23/10)

One of these days, I’m going to get inventive and serve something other than turkey on Thanksgiving. And I’m not talking about run-of-the-mill alternatives like Honey Baked Ham. I’m talking about exotic dishes. Imagine a spread that featured elk, alligator, bison, and ostrich (all things I’ve eaten and enjoyed – okay, the alligator left a lot to be desired). Or how about a “five-bird roast,” an actual dish from the UK featuring goose, turkey, chicken, pheasant, and pigeon, all stuffed with sausage? Sure, the pigeon sounds unappetizing, but the rest of it sounds delicious. Of course, I could be going down a slippery slope with all these exotic meats. When I looked up “Turducken” on Wikipedia, I saw a link at the bottom of the page that said, “See also: Whole stuffed camel.” Okay…rewind. Turkey it is.

Leave a Reply

