Cul de Sac (11/24/10)

I’m also a fan of metal bread-pinching things. I think they’re great…for everything but pinching bread. Call me unsanitary, but when I pick out a dinner roll, I use my hands. It’s the only way I can gauge the texture and temperature of the roll. Tongs are fine for grabbing, but they’re useless for determining quality. They also have a habit of tearing holes in rolls, which can be frustrating, especially when the tear ruins a perfectly browned outer layer. So this Thanksgiving, I’ll leave the bread-pinching instruments where they belong: in the junk drawer where they can be fished out for impromptu bouts of jousting, nose pinching, and remote control grabbing.

Leave a Reply

