Dustin (11/26/10)

I woke up this morning to find jack-o’-lantern bags on my front lawn, a Christmas tree in my living room, and leftovers in my refrigerator. Then I remembered why Thanksgiving is the most hectic holiday of all. Not only is there lots of cooking (and eating, and dish-washing) to do, there’s also an ungodly amount of decorating to get through. Leftover Halloween decorations? Take ’em down quick. Boxed up Christmas decorations? Get ’em up quick. Still-standing pine trees? Chop ’em down quick. Those of us who refuse to let Christmas supersede Thanksgiving find ourselves in a constant state of hurry. It’s one reason why, when people ask what they can bring to Thanksgiving dinner, I always reply, “wine.”

Leave a Reply

