Cul de Sac (4/2/11)

When I was a kid, I played softball practically every day during the summer. When I was a teenager, I played basketball practically every day during my lunch period. As an adult, I ride my bike every chance I get…but I realize I’m part of a dying breed. The sports of my youth have been replaced by “the beautiful game” of soccer. The kids in my neighborhood are so enamored with the game that they play makeshift matches in a small park with no field. And they’re not the only ones who are obsessed. Soccer fans have brought the following to the southwest side of Chicago: a state-of-the-art indoor stadium, a brand new outdoor field courtesy of the Park District, a brand new outdoor field courtesy of the YMCA, and a city high school soccer championship. They’ve also brought a Major League Soccer team (and stadium) to the southwest suburbs. Gooooooooooaaaal!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

