Wizard of Id (4/10/11)

I like to run. On warm spring mornings (or even cool spring mornings), I enjoy stepping outside, riding my bike to the park, and dashing across the still-wet grass. But under no circumstances would I ever run a marathon. Why not? Well, consider the first guy who ran a marathon. He dashed 26.2 miles from Marathon, Greece to Athens to deliver some Important War News. Then he died of exhaustion. That’s not something I want to emulate. And those absolutely insane runners who sprint for 100 miles or more? I’m surprised the trails they use aren’t littered with corpses. From what I understand, they are littered with dehydrated, vomiting contestants whose bodies are starting to fail. Again, not something I want to emulate.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

