Pickles (4/24/11)

I didn’t grow up in a particularly religious family, so Easter was always something of a non-event for me. Sure, I got an Easter basket and attended church (every few years), but that was about it. I was also put off by the fact that Easter fell on a different day each year. All of the other holidays stood still, so why did this one have to move around? But I suspect the biggest factor playing into my antipathy toward Easter had to do with the time of year. March and April happen to be my least favorite months; they’re cold, rainy, muddy, and uninspiring. Sure, chocolate bunnies and being saved help sweeten the pot, but early spring in Chicago is still nothing to celebrate.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

