Monty (5/22/11)

Last week, I learned that the Lieutenant Governor of Illinois rides her bike to work; a fact that undermines all my excuses for not doing the same. I have a busy schedule? Without a doubt, her schedule is busier. I haven’t been on the road in a while? She told a reporter she had just taken her first ride of the spring. I can’t afford to sully my work clothes? She uses rubber bands to protect her pant legs. There are other excuses I could think of (my bike needs a tune-up, my route doesn’t have protected lanes) but when it comes down to it, I need to stop riding to the train station and start riding to the office. I see Chicago has scheduled its annual Bike to Work Day for Friday, June 17. Hmmm…looks like it’s time for me to start pedaling.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

